In for a penny…

Have you ever wanted a do-over? The chance to go back and do some things differently? I’ve made mostly good choices in my life, but with 20/20 hindsight, I have to admit I’d do some things differently. Like if I had Christmas 2016 to do over, I wouldn’t have let myself gain 10 pounds!

Although the change I’m seeking isn’t huge (it’s more like tweaking), I feel the need for at least some change in most areas of my life. So it’s kind of an overhaul.

The call to do something has been growing louder and louder over the last couple of years. It is time.

One of the reasons I suppose a do-over is on my radar is because I turned 53 five days ago. I can’t believe I’m that old! How did I get here?! As joints ache more and sleep defies me, I realize that time is fleeting (or is that fleeing?!). I realize that my physical and mental capacity is diminishing. I want it back! I want a do-over!

Although that’s not entirely possible, according to the latest research, there is a lot I can do to hold onto (and possibly improve) what I do have. It’s not exactly a do-over, but it’s the closest I can come.

With the improvements I make, I then want to travel, see, do, experience all I can before it’s too late. I want to ditch all those “have tos” and do more of the “want tos”.

So, I want change. But as I discussed this need for change with myself, I got stuck on how to actually do it. After all, if I knew how to create change, wouldn’t I have done it by now?

I looked around me for inspiration. I started at the library. Did you know there are hundreds of books on the subject of change? [*See list below] Not to mention other books that speak to changes in specific aspects of  life, such as ways to change your diet, your fitness routine, your marriage, your finances, your attitude, your job, and of course living through “THE CHANGE”!

The problem is, even if I devoted my entire life to reading every book ever written on change, I likely wouldn’t be a changed person. I still have to DO something differently.

And, there’s another problem. The authors of these many books may be experts on the subject of change, but they are not an expert on me. Talk about a niche market! They don’t know my life or my abilities or my interests. There is, alas, no book called, “How to Change Tracy’s Life”. And, again, even if there was, I’d still have to DO something!!

This whole escapade is fraught with problems! How do I DO change while still being myself?! Now THERE’S a paradox!

Another question arises: for how long do I have to do things differently in order for them to become my new reality??! A day, a month, a year, a lifetime? Some experts say it takes 21 days to create or abandon a habit. Other experts say it takes 60 days. GRRR!

To hell with the experts! I’m going out on a limb (and hope it doesn’t break!). The only thing I really know is that I want my life to be completely different when I turn 54 next year. That’s 365 days (360 days and counting…) from now.

  • OK, I have a title: The Do-Over Project
  • I have a timeline: 365 days

Now I just need to determine what needs to change and how I’m going to accomplish this hurculean feat! But you’ll have to wait until I write again to find out some of the details.

Cheers, Tracy

*Books on Change

The list below is random! I found them at the library. Some I’ve read. Some I have not. I don’t necessarily promote any of them. Rather, I see them as ways that may (or may not!) point you in the right direction. If nothing else, they’ll get you thinking about change:

  1. Only Nuns Change Habits Overnight: 52 Amazing Ways to Master the Art of Personal Change (Karen Scalf-Linamen)
  2. Transitions (Julia Cameron)
  3. It’s Not What Happens to You, It’s What You Do About It (W. Mitchell)
  4. When Everything Changes, Change Everything (Neale Donald Walsch)
  5. Who Moved My Cheese?An Amazing Way to Deal With Change in your Work and in your Life (Spencer Johnson)
  6. The Power of Habit [why We Do What We Do in Life and Business] (Charles Duhigg)
  7. Start Where You Are: Life Lessons in Getting From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be  (Chris Gardner)
  8. Still Here: Embracing Aging, Changing, and Dying (Ram Dass)
  9. Flip the Switch: Achieve Extraordinary Things With Simple Changes to How You Think (Jez Rose)
  10. Better Than Before Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives (Gretchen Craft Rubin)
  11. Start Right Where You Are: How Little Changes Can Make A Big Difference for Overwhelmed Procrastinators, Frustrated Overachievers, and Recovering Perfectionists S(am Bennett)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “In for a penny…

Leave a Reply

