Yesterday was not a good day for change.

I’m loving my new job but, at two weeks in, I’m exhausted by the end of the week. This will change, but not yesterday. My body struggles with the new routine and adapting to the ebb and flow of the organization.

Yesterday, the list of goals I check in on daily (I shared it with you in my last post),  evaporated. What list? Daily exercise? What’s that?  Writing a blog post? Who would do such a time-wasting thing? Finding joy in my day? That’s for sissies (no disrespect to sissies)!

In fact, every list item seemed stupid! Why am I going to all this trouble again? I was too tired to think about it.

But today is a new day. I’ve already done probably the most important goal on the list: do something differently. You see, I’m not going to chastise myself for yesterday’s complete and utter “failure”. Yesterday’s failure is today’s opportunity. I just made that up.

It proves itself as I say it. Because I “failed” yesterday, I have been given the opportunity to try again. The Do-Over Project is not about the short haul and it’s not about perfection. It’s about the distance race. It’s about creating new habits and banishing old ones. It’s about creating those habits by trying again and again and again…for 365 days. It’s about doing things differently–including not giving up like I might have done in the past.

What have you failed at lately and what opportunity has it given you? Let wave after wave of failure wash over it. Let it bring new opportunities.

Here’s to your fantastic failure!

Tracy

yesterdays failures todays opportunity.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

